Mini CocoChoco Pancakes – Indulgence is good :)

Plenty of Pancakes

My breakfast is highly standardized and predictable, one of the very few really predictable things in my life. It’s usually a combination of a bowl of cereal, a glass of milk, a banana, few other fruits, 2 slices of breakfast bread and/or a cup of coffee. Depending on what’s in stock, it can be one or more of the above items. I rarely deviate from this combination, not because I don’t want to but because it is too convenient not to :). So anytime I actually cook up a breakfast is wow time for my sweetheart. This time I decided to indulge myself more than anyone else. I love waffles but could not make them since I don’t have a waffle maker. So I made the next best thing – pancakes. Mini fluffy, yummy, faintly sweet pancakes loaded with chocolate chips and sweetened dried coconut flakes. The chocolate and coconut let me indulge while the mini versions kept guilt at bay (of course I had to forget that I was eating twice of what I would have had usually). And with a little maple syrup to boot, nicely indulge I did 🙂
Here is how you too can make life a little more varied and sweet.

Ingredients: Makes 12-15 pancakes, 3-4 inches wide
1.5 cups all purpose flour, filled generously
1.5 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
 A pinch of salt
1 egg
1.5 cups of milk, room temperature
1 tbsp butter, melted and at room temperature
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
2 tbsp sugar
1/2 cup semisweet chocolate chips
1/3 cup sweetened dried coconut flakes (If you don’t like coconut, use any chopped nuts of your choice)
Butter Spray/Oil, to fry

Preparation:
1. Sift the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt in a bowl and set aside.
2. Mix the egg and milk well in a bowl. Pour into the dry flour mix and whisk into a smotth, thick batter.
3. Whisk in the melted butter and vanilla. Now add the sugar, chocolate chips, coconut flakes to it and mix well.
4. Heat the griddle/flat pan and spray the butter/oil on it. Drop a heaped tablespoon full of the batter on one corner of the pan to make a 3-4 inch wide pancake.  Depending on how big the pan is, you can make 3-5 pancakes at a time.
5. Cook one side for around 3-4 minutes on med-high heat (a good indicator is when small bubbles start appearing on the surface of the pancake) and then flip onto the other side. Cook for additional 2-3 minutes. I usually like my pancakes with a little bit of darkened sides and hence tened to cook till at least one side is a little dark. You decide is that is how long you want to go as well.
6. cook the rest of the batter likewise.  Serve with a dollop of butter an

This entry was posted in American, Breakfast, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

