Lemon Blueberry Muffins: For the love of summer

Usually I put in quite some thought in deciding the menu for any event, be it a party, a picnic, a dinner or a plain potluck dish that I have to make. So when I planned a visit to the lake with some friends and opted to take care of the breakfast, I forgot that one of the key ingredients to success is a good night’s sleep !!! Instead I merrily accepted a dinner invitation the evening before and ended up staying awake past midnight. Come morning, I was in the kitchen, in a state of panic, since there was nothing to show for breakfast. Of course I knew what I wanted to make but not which one to make. Muffins sure, but which kind ??????? !!!!!!!!! Again, my saviour, my j’adore, WWW comes to my rescue. I had blueberries in my fridge and knew they go well with lemon flavor. So a random search for lemon blueberry muffin it was. A quick glance down the link and I picked one from the FoodandWine magazine, hoping it was good and not caring if it was not awesome. I mean how bad can Muffins from  a popular magazine like foodandwine can be !!!                              
And guess what ??!! The muffins turned out fabulous. Moist and lemony, bursting with  blueberries and beautiful to look at. I loved it so much, and I hope others did too, that I decided to keep save the recipe for all my future summers :D. And you can be sure I am making it again this summer too, especially while the blueberries are in abundance. Oh, did I say it is also a snap to make these babies 🙂

Lemon Blueberry Muffins

Ingredients: Makes 12 large (or 16 medium or 35 mini) muffins

1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons sugar (this comes out moderately sweet, so add another 1-2 tbsp if you want it sweeter)
2 teaspoons baking powder
3/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup blueberries
2 large eggs
1/2 cup milk
1/4 cup vegetable oil
Finely grated zest of 1 lemon
1/4 cup fresh lemon juice

1.Preheat the oven to 375° F. Prep a standard 12-cup muffin pan (or any other muffin pans/cups you might have. I also think this would make a good breakfast loaf though I am not sure about the baking time then required. If you are baking into a loaf, start with the instructed baking time and then check every additional 5 mins till done.)
2. In a medium bowl, whisk the flour with the sugar, baking powder and salt.
3. In another medium bowl, whisk the eggs with the milk, oil and lemon zest, then whisk in the lemon juice. Using a rubber spatula, fold the egg mixture into the flour mixture until blended; do not overmix. Gently stir in 3/4 cup of the blueberries.
4.Spoon the batter into the muffin cups. Top the batter with 3-4 blueberries each, making sure they are lightly pressed and almost covered by the batter. Bake for about 20 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center of a muffin comes out clean.
5.Let them stand in the pan for 5 minutes, then transfer them to a rack to cool further. Serve warm or at room temperature.
Once thoroughly cooled, the muffins can be kept for upto 4 days in an airtight container. Just nuke it in the microwave for 10 odd secs before serving to add extra zing 😉

This entry was posted in Breakfast and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

