Papaya Pineapple Chutney

In my mind, chutney was always a Hindi word, till I realized, thanks to the Britishers, it is now part of the world wide English dictionary. Great, as long as people know where it comes from !!! One fine day I opened my fridge to realize that even an ardent fruit lover like myself can not finish a whole month’s fruits on her own (I must have been role playing an army cook when I bought them !) without having to lose some to their deathbed. Once I had thrown the rotten, I took stock of the rest and did a fair estimate of how much can I gobble down over the next few days without having to discard some more. Not much, as it turned out :(. So I decided to cook up some of the fruits. I saw papaya and I saw a can of pineapple ( not in the fridge but in the pantry, mind you) and thus was this chutney born. I would say, you can use any valid fruit and spice combination instead of the ones that I used and make a chutney. Most of the ingredients will be pretty much the same. This chutney goes great as a condiment, topping or even for those finger licking days :)Ingredients:
1 cup packed brown sugar
1/3 cup golden raisins
10 Oz crushed pineapple (or pineapple chunks diced into 1/2″ bits)
15 Oz semi ripened papaya, cut into 1/2″ cubes
1/2 cup vinegar
1 tsp salt (adjust according to taste)
1/2 tsp black pepper
2 tbsp finely chopped/grated ginger
1/4 cup blanched almonds
1 tsp mustard seeds
1 tsp red pepper flakes (adjust to taste and tolerance)

1. Put all the ingredients into a heavy bottomed sauce pan and cook over medium heat, stirring intermittently till it comes together into a mushy chutney consistency.  Serve as and when and how you please.

This entry was posted in Condiments and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Papaya Pineapple Chutney

  1. H says:

    That’s ingenious yummy way to use fruits…I m gona try it with some other fruits:-)

Leave a Reply

